Lutheran Hour Ministries

Kansas District 
Lutheran Laymen's League

2017 Kansas State Fair Worship Service
Sunday, September 10, 2017, 10:00 AM
Bretz and Young Injury Lawyers Arena

Rev. LeRoy Pralle

Retired Pastor of Christ the King Lutheran Church, Salina, Kansas

Lutheran Laymen's League Booth
at the 2017 Kansas State Fair
Friday, September 8, through Sunday, September 17, 2017
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Meadowlark Exhibition Hall
(Southwest Corner of exhibition hall)

2016 Kansas State Fair Worship Service
     Numerous people planned for over a year for the weekend of September 10 and 11, 2016.  I did not hear a negative comment, even the Kansas weather cooperated.  So what happened?  If you missed the events, let me describe the weekend to you.

     Saturday evening 50-60 people met at Our Redeemer Lutheran Church, Hutchinson, to Meet and Greet the Lutheran Hour Speaker, Rev. Gregory Seltz.  He told of his life before becoming the Lutheran Hour speaker, of his life as speaker, and answered questions from those attending.  Polly Gregali, from Lutheran Hour Ministries staff, was on hand to answer questions and provided materials for people to pick up.  A lunch was served by members of Our Redeemer Lutheran Church.     

     Sunday morning was quiet and cool.  Pastor Seltz was the speaker, Sheila Stuenkel was the organist; Martha Hornbostel was the choir director, and Pastor Gene Holtorf was the liturgist.  We cannot forget that Polly Gregali handed out materials and answered questions.  The service was preceded by hymn sing. The hymns “Come Thou Almighty King”, "Praise to the Lord the Almighty”, “Before You Lord We Bow”, Jesus Loves Me”, and “Crown Him with Many Crowns” were sung.   The worship service opened with the hymn “Lord Jesus Christ, Be Present Now”.  The scripture readings were Amos 8:4-7, 1 Timothy 2:1-15, and Luke 16:1-15.  The mixed choir from Zone 7, around 30 in number, sang the hymns “A Song of Fellowship” and “Oh, Bless the Lord My Soul.  Pastor Seltz delivered the message, which urged Christians to share their faith and to be a bold witnesses.  The choir closed with the choral benediction “The Lord Bless You and Keep You”.

     Approximately 315 persons attended the worship service; the offering amounted to over $1,600.  The District Board expresses its sincere appreciation to all of those volunteers who contributed their own time, effort, and money to plan and bring to pass the Meet and Greet event on Saturday, September 10, 2016, and the worship service on Sunday, September 11, 2016.

Ron Bott

State Fair Worship Sevice Committee
Member Title Member Name Spouse's Name Send e-mail
Coordinator  (since 2002) Ron Bott Kathy
Music Director Barbara Geuy John ~
Pastoral Advisor  Rev. Scott Snow Debra

2016 Kansas State Fair Booth
     The 2016 Kansas State Fair was held in Hutchinson from Friday, September 9, through Sunday, September 18.  The LLL/LHM Kansas State Fair booth was located in the southwest corner of the Medowlark Building and was open from 9 A.M. to 9 P.M each of the ten days of the Fair.  Rev. Gregory Seltz, the Lutheran Hour Speaker, and Polly Gregali, Lutheran Hour Ministries Resource Manager, stopped by the booth following the Kansas State Fair Worship Service on Sunday, September 11.

     The volunteers at the LLL/LHM booth have had the privilege of sharing the Gospel for 31 consecutive years at the Kansas State Fair.  Bibles for children and adults, "The Lord's Prayer" by the Rev. Gregory Seltz, as well as other LHM material, Portals of Prayer and religious themed gifts were available for distribution at the LLL/LHM State Fair Booth.

     Many congrgations across the Kansas District were represented by the volunteers in the booth as well as providing donated religious material for distribution.  Blessings to everyone that made this opportunity for sharing the Gospel and witnessing a reality.

Mike Tonn

State Fair Booth Committee
Member Title Member Names Spouse's Name Send e-mail
Chairperson Mike Tonn Teresa
Committee Member Betty Fenton ~ ~
Committee Member John Johnson Ok Sun
Committee Member Keith Jopp ~
Committee Member Gary Neuschafer Judy
Committee Member Dave Rupp ~ ~
Committee Member Stan Schrag Roberta ~
Committee Member Mark Stites ~ ~
Committee Member Bill Wiese ~

Page updated: 2017-08-27